Celebrating transformation

TechAlliance announces Limitless finalists and opens public voting for People’s Choice Award

Photo: Founders of Marlow, one of the 12 finalists for the inaugural Limitless awards program

FOLLOWING A PUBLIC call for nominations from the region’s established and emerging innovators, TechAlliance of Southwestern Ontario ― through a panel of adjudicators ― has selected 12 finalists for the inaugural Limitless: A Celebration of Regional Innovation program.

Developed as a regional showcase of businesses and entrepreneurs who are leveraging technology to develop creative solutions, harnessing equitable practices to empower an inclusive and vibrant community and grow Canadian ventures in the face of disruption, there are four Limitless award categories, and winners will be announced at a virtual celebration on March 31, 2021.

Story Continues Below


“Unique circumstances call for unique celebrations. Though Limitless is unlike anything we’ve done ― this is the shape that transformation takes,” says Christina Fox, CEO at TechAlliance. “This is what it looks like when emerging innovators take health and equity into their own hands, when technology founders break down the barriers of distance and creative minds design tools that inject joy into our daily lives. This is progress. And we couldn’t be more delighted to see it reflected in an impressive roster of Southwestern Ontario finalists.”

The awards and finalists in each category are as follows:

The Breakthrough Award (recognizing a company who has brought a novel solution to market, whose technology clearly demonstrates next-level innovation):

  • Apricotton
  • HUX
  • Marlow

The Gamechanger Award (recognizing a company whose culture is paramount to the success of their business, accelerating growth and profitability while creating positive impact):

  • Mobials
  • Northern Commerce
  • Start.ca

The Scaleup Award (recognizing a company that has realized substantial growth over the last 12 months):

  • EXAR Studios
  • Kabo Fresh Dog Food
  • VidHug

The Forthcomer Award (recognizing a trailblazing young professional, 29 years of age and under, with an innovative solution or business):

  • Lena Schreyer, Beecuz
  • Saumik Biswas, PathLogix
  • Dallas Barnes, Reya Health

In addition to the four award categories, an additional People’s Choice Award will be presented at the Limitless celebration, and the public are invited to vote for a recipient from the finalists across the four award categories.

“Disruption has become a launchpad for our community to show strength and ingenuity, fueling creativity and collaboration at every turn,” adds Fox. “Our Limitless finalists have carved out opportunities to thrive in an innovation economy transformed, and we’re ready to celebrate those driving necessary change. Now, we’re ready to hear from the people. Who’s your frontrunner?”

Story Continues Below


Limitless is made possible by sponsorship from a cast of regional partners — MNP LLP, Stronghold Services Corporation, TD Ferrara Wealth Advisory Group, Fanshawe College School of Digital and Performing Arts and Pierre L. Morrissette Institute for Entrepreneurship at Ivey Business School.

Tickets for the Limitless celebration are available at techalliance.ca/limitless. With the purchase of a ticket to the celebration, each guest will receive a ‘Bites & Bevies’ box, stocked with locally sourced snacks and a signature cocktail from Black Fly Beverage Company, delivered in time for the celebration. Celebrating transformation Limitless Awards

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap